offering Cribbs the chance he wasnt sure would

in FanArts 29.03.2019 03:20
von Dogcat250 • Halb Gott | 1.156 Beiträge

FLORHAM PARK, N.J. -- Josh Cribbs was in the Pro Bowl in February and out of a job six months later. A knee injury put his career in doubt as the NFL season started without him. Finally, the New York Jets called, offering Cribbs the chance he wasnt sure would ever come. "This is like a rebirth for me," Cribbs said after his first practice Wednesday. "Its a fresh start. As a rookie, I came in undrafted and I had to prove to everybody -- everybody in the NFL and everybody on my team -- that I could play on this team and do well and produce. I have to do that now again, just to show everybody, Dang, hes still got it. "And thats what I want, for people to be like, Oh, man, hes still here." The three-time Pro Bowl wide receiver-kick returner signed Tuesday with the Jets after sitting out since being cut by Oakland in late August. He wasnt completely healed from the off-season surgery to repair a torn meniscus in his left knee. "I took some time off to get healthy," he said. "Im healthy now, 110 per cent. Kind of 111 per cent." In eight seasons with the Cleveland Browns, Cribbs established himself as one of the leagues greatest return men. Hes tied with New Englands Leon Washington for the most kickoff-return touchdowns in NFL history with eight, and has also returned three punts for scores. Even with a bad knee last season, Cribbs made it to the Pro Bowl as a replacement for Baltimores Jacoby Jones. He even caught a touchdown pass from Matt Schaub in the NFLs all-star game. "I think with that name on the back, he stands there and youre going to be a little nervous because weve all been scorched by him in the past," Rex Ryan said. "Theres a knack for hitting those returns." If hes completely healthy, he could instantly improve a special teams unit that hasnt done much to help the offence with starting field position. And, he could be a versatile presence